Twitter

Matt Wallace, author of Bump, presents a personal, humorous, and body-positive middle grade standalone about a fat kid who wants to stop his bullies...and enlists the help of the world's most infamous supervillain. Perfect for fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan, Julie Murphy, and John David Anderson!


Max's first year of middle school hasn't been easy. Eighth-grade hotshot Johnny Pro torments Max constantly, for no other reason than Max is fat and an easy target. Max wishes he could fight back, but he doesn't want to hurt Johnny...just make him feel the way Max feels.

In desperation, Max writes to the only person he thinks will understand: imprisoned supervillain Master Plan, a "gentleman of size". To his surprise, Master Plan wants to help! He suggests a way for Max to get even with Johnny Pro, and change how the other kids at school see them both.

And it works! When Master Plan's help pays off for Max in ways he couldn't have imagined, he starts gaining confidence-enough to finally talk to Marina, the girl he likes in class who shares his passion for baking. With Master Plan in his corner, anything seems possible...but is there a price to pay for the supervillain's help?



"A funny and heartfelt underdog tale that I couldn't put down!"

     –Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin'

"A hilarious, playful, and refreshingly relatable take on the superhero genre that teaches the non-caped among us how to discover the hero hidden inside."

     –John David Anderson, author of Posted and Mr. Bixby's Last Day

"Smart, funny, and sweet. I wish I had this book when I was a kid, but I'm glad kids - and me, too - have it now."

     –Chuck Wendig, New York Times best-selling author of Dust & Grim and Star Wars: Aftermath

"With The Supervillain's Guide to Being a Fat Kid Matt Wallace has created a frank, fresh, funny and FAT take on what it means to stand up for yourself and claim your own power. Kids everywhere will be cheering for Max and fat kids, especially, will feel seen and empowered by his quest to figure out who he is. This is an incredible story about heroes and villains and how we can choose to be our best selves no matter what anyone else has to say about it. It is truly original and deeply needed and I can't wait for every kid to read it, particularly the fat ones looking for the words and ways to love and celebrate themselves."

     –Angie Manfredi, librarian and editor of The (Other) F Word: A Celebration of the Fat and Fierce

"If self-confidence, friendship, and the never ending question of 'who are the good guys' were ingredients, then this book would be an amazing cake. This book also features an amazing cake."

     –Mur Lafferty, author of Solo: A Star Wars Story and Minecraft: The Lost Journals
"An exciting romp full of good advice and featuring a fun protagonist."

     –Kirkus Reviews
"Confronting the assumption that physical appearance correlates to morality or worth and reinforcing the idea that individual choices and actions show a person's true self, Wallace writes a triumphant arc of self-acceptance that extends to developing personal ethics and boundaries."

     –Publishers Weekly



The Supervillain's Guide to Being a Fat Kid - Official Playlists