BOOK ANNOUNCEMENT + COVER REVEAL!!!

This week, Matt announced via Twitter that Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Children’s Books, will be publishing his next middle-grade novel THE SUPERVILLAIN’S GUIDE TO BEING A FAT KID in January, 2022!

Matt also released this amazing cover for the book, designed by Andrea Vandergrift and the HarperCollins art team. Kat Fajardo, the super talented artist behind the cover of Matt’s debut middle-grade novel, BUMP, has returned to offer up another amazing creation that perfectly encapsulates the spirit of the book.

More details about the world and story of SVG are forthcoming, but Matt describes the book as deeply personal and different from anything he’s ever done, equal parts fantastical and autobiographical, a story about body positivity, acceptance, and the temptations of radicalization facing so many kids at a young age today.

You can already preorder your copy of THE SUPERVILLAIN’S GUIDE TO BEING A FAT KID wherever you preorder your books online!

Stay tuned for more exciting details in the coming months!

BUMP is out now!!!

Matt’s debut middle-grade novel BUMP is now available everywhere you buy your books! You can get it in hardcover, ebook, and audiobook form!

A moving and triumphant middle grade contemporary debut from award-winning author Matt Wallace about a heroic young girl—who dreams of becoming a pro wrestler—learning to find courage and fight for what she loves. Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds’ Track series!

MJ knows what it means to hurt. Bruises from gymnastics heal, but big hurts—like her dad not being around anymore—don’t go away. Now her mom needs to work two jobs, and MJ doesn’t have friends at school to lean on.

There is only one thing MJ loves: the world of professional wrestling. She especially idolizes the luchadores and the stories they tell in the ring. When MJ learns that her neighbor, Mr. Arellano, runs a wrestling school, she has a new mission in life: join the school, train hard, and become a wrestler.

But trouble lies ahead. After wrestling in a showcase event, MJ attracts the attention of Mr. Arellano’s enemy at the State Athletic Commission. There are threats to shut the school down, putting MJ’s new home—and the community that welcomed her—at risk. What can MJ do to save her new family?

If you can, Matt always encourages you to buy/order BUMP from your local, independent bookstores! You can support indie booksellers easily by ordering BUMP through Bookshop, or find your nearest indie shop by searching IndieBound by clicking here!

What people are saying about BUMP!

“This book did a pile drive on my heart. I was so quickly captivated by MJ as she navigated grief and excitement, fear and joy. Reading Bump is having ringside seats to a touching, hilarious story that the world so desperately needs right now.” — Mark Oshiro, author of Anger Is a Gift and Each of Us a Desert

“Matt Wallace makes every pro-wrestling fan’s dream come true in Bump. Not only does he know his way around a wrestling ring—he’ll have you booing at the heels and cheering for the faces, just like you would ringside—but he knows how to tell a story. Middle-school gymnast turned wrestler MJ isn’t just trying to find herself, but the courage to be herself, in a world where cliques, cruelty, unfairness, and grief beat you down. But Bump teaches you that, in life and Lucha, there’s always a surprise move that can save you from defeat and pin your opponent—and your fears—down.”    — Carlos Hernandez, Pura Belpré Award-winning author of the Sal and Gabi series

“My favorite books have two things: A world I’ve never seen before and a great character to experience it with. Bump delivers both in a heartfelt, powerful way. I loved stepping into the world of small-time professional wrestling with M.J. I winced every time she took a hit inside the ring and out, and I cheered every time she got up. What a great middle-grade debut. I truly cannot wait to see what Matt Wallace does next.”  — Greg van Eekhout, author of Voyage of the Dogs and Cog

“I love kids with big dreams, and MJ is a heroine to root for. Bump introduces readers to the world of professional wrestling while also telling a story about grief, friends that become family, and finding your voice. An entertaining and heartwarming read!” — Janae Marks, author of From the Desk of Zoe Washington