Viewing: Uncategorized

BUMP is out now!!!

Matt’s debut middle-grade novel BUMP is now available everywhere you buy your books! You can get it in hardcover, ebook, and audiobook form!

A moving and triumphant middle grade contemporary debut from award-winning author Matt Wallace about a heroic young girl—who dreams of becoming a pro wrestler—learning to find courage and fight for what she loves. Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds’ Track series!

MJ knows what it means to hurt. Bruises from gymnastics heal, but big hurts—like her dad not being around anymore—don’t go away. Now her mom needs to work two jobs, and MJ doesn’t have friends at school to lean on.

There is only one thing MJ loves: the world of professional wrestling. She especially idolizes the luchadores and the stories they tell in the ring. When MJ learns that her neighbor, Mr. Arellano, runs a wrestling school, she has a new mission in life: join the school, train hard, and become a wrestler.

But trouble lies ahead. After wrestling in a showcase event, MJ attracts the attention of Mr. Arellano’s enemy at the State Athletic Commission. There are threats to shut the school down, putting MJ’s new home—and the community that welcomed her—at risk. What can MJ do to save her new family?

If you can, Matt always encourages you to buy/order BUMP from your local, independent bookstores! You can support indie booksellers easily by ordering BUMP through Bookshop, or find your nearest indie shop by searching IndieBound by clicking here!

What people are saying about BUMP!

“This book did a pile drive on my heart. I was so quickly captivated by MJ as she navigated grief and excitement, fear and joy. Reading Bump is having ringside seats to a touching, hilarious story that the world so desperately needs right now.” — Mark Oshiro, author of Anger Is a Gift and Each of Us a Desert

“Matt Wallace makes every pro-wrestling fan’s dream come true in Bump. Not only does he know his way around a wrestling ring—he’ll have you booing at the heels and cheering for the faces, just like you would ringside—but he knows how to tell a story. Middle-school gymnast turned wrestler MJ isn’t just trying to find herself, but the courage to be herself, in a world where cliques, cruelty, unfairness, and grief beat you down. But Bump teaches you that, in life and Lucha, there’s always a surprise move that can save you from defeat and pin your opponent—and your fears—down.”    — Carlos Hernandez, Pura Belpré Award-winning author of the Sal and Gabi series

“My favorite books have two things: A world I’ve never seen before and a great character to experience it with. Bump delivers both in a heartfelt, powerful way. I loved stepping into the world of small-time professional wrestling with M.J. I winced every time she took a hit inside the ring and out, and I cheered every time she got up. What a great middle-grade debut. I truly cannot wait to see what Matt Wallace does next.”  — Greg van Eekhout, author of Voyage of the Dogs and Cog

“I love kids with big dreams, and MJ is a heroine to root for. Bump introduces readers to the world of professional wrestling while also telling a story about grief, friends that become family, and finding your voice. An entertaining and heartwarming read!” — Janae Marks, author of From the Desk of Zoe Washington 

SAVAGE LEGION Has Been Unleashed!

The wait is over! Matt’s debut epic fantasy novel, SAVAGE LEGION, the first book in his new Savage Rebellion series, is now available wherever you buy your books!

You can support your local independent bookstores by ordering the gorgeous hardcover edition of SAVAGE LEGION online through Bookshop (Matt’s overwhelming preference). You can also get your Kindle and Nook copies by ordering via Amazon and Barnes & Noble respectively.

The audiobook edition from Simon Audio, wonderfully narrated by Lameece Issaq, is available from Audible, Apple Books, and Google Play.

Our humblest and most profound thanks to everyone who has supported the journey to this point, and the release of SAVAGE LEGION! Please don’t forget to review and rate the book on Amazon, Goodreads, and wherever else you post your reviews! It makes a world of difference!

What people are saying about SAVAGE LEGION …

“Cunning plotting and brisk action elevate this impressive tale of swords and super-science.”
– Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Smart characters and brutal action create an intriguing story about power and the decisions made to keep it.”
– Library Journal, starred review

“The stylish first book in the Savage Rebellion series promises that Wallace will do for epic fantasy what he did for urban fantasy with the Sin du Jour series.”
– Booklist

“It will make you think. It will challenge you to analyze the world around you.”
– FIYAH Literary Magazine

“Savage Legion is most definitely the best work from the pen of an author whose skills… are growing by leaps and bounds.” — Hugo-nominated fanzine Nerds of a Feather

“Savage Legion is the epic fantasy the genre has been waiting for!”
— Sarah Gailey, Hugo award winning author of Magic for Liars.

“Wallace deploys an epic tag-team of smack-you-in-the-face fight sequences alongside ingenious world building in this fast-paced first round of a fantasy trilogy taking on—and taking down—the allure of empire.”
— Kate Elliot, acclaimed author of the Crown of Stars series

______________

.